I have breezed through three really good books this last month or so. All three books are vastly different from each other which has made it easy to switch from one book to the next.  Sometimes if I read books that are from the same genre it is hard to move from one book to the next because I tend to compare the two.  That has not been the case this month. 

The first book that I read was The Rise and Fall of Great Powers by Tom Rachman.  We selected this book as our second book for our book club this year.

The rise and fall of great powers

This was a very difficult book for me to review.  At first I wasn’t sure that I really liked it.  It jumped around between three different time periods, and got off to a very slow start.  I didn’t really get into the book until at least half way in.  After that halfway mark, the book picked up, and I did enjoy it.  What made me end up liking the book more than expected was book club.  The book gave us so many things to talk about at book club and so many different opinions and interpretations.  I understand why the book spent so much time building up the story at the beginning.  You really had to have all of that background information to make the story come together the way it did.  I would probably give the book 3 Stars on Goodreads.  It was an interesting book, but probably not one I would read again.

 

The next book that I flew through this month was Book One of The Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson.  I purchased this book a long time ago, but just now got around to reading it.  I read Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson last year and LOVED it, and knew that I would like this book as well.  My brother is a huge Brandon Sanderson fan, and he has been trying to get me to read his books for awhile now.  Mistborn

This was a fantastic fantasy story that kept me engaged in reading the entire time.  It was a very imaginative story that wove together magic, world building, and all sorts of species in a battle of good vs evil.  My brother is always telling me how all of the Brandon Sanderson books intertwine in some way, and I am interested in reading all of his books to see how this plays out.  I immediately started book two in this series, but put it on hold to read our book club book for next month.

 

 

 

The final book that I read this month was Wild by Cheryl Strayed.

Wild

This was by far my most favorite of the three.  This was a non-fiction book about a 22 year old girl who hikes the Pacific Crest Trail in an effort to find who she really is and come to terms with what she has become and what she has lost in her life.  I usually have a hard time reading non-fiction books because they tend to have some really slow parts scattered throughout, but not this book.  This book read like fiction with beautiful descriptions and a suspenseful story that either pulled at your heart strings or made you laugh out loud.  The entire time that I was reading this book, I wanted to be there hiking the PCT with her and experience all that she was going through.  I can’t wait to sit down and watch the movie that is based on the book, but I know that the movie won’t come close to being as good as the book.  I also can’t wait for our next book club so we can all get together and discuss this adventurous story.

