Who doesn’t love a good quote?  Quotes are a part of my daily life.  I get a daily quote delivered every morning from an app on my phone.  I follow quote sources on Instagram.  I use quotes to teach with, and I can pick out telling quotes from every book that I read.  My students have been working with quotes lately, and I have really been impressed with their work, and thought I would share a few of the telling quotes that they have found in their books.

A little background first.  One of my favorite things to do as a teacher is teach lit circles.  My current 7th graders are finishing up their last week of this round of lit circles.  They have spent the last 5 weeks reading a novel in groups, like a book club, and practicing different reading skills.  I love lit circles so much because it really gets kids interested in reading.
For example, I have one student, who I know has not read a single book from the library all year, but since we have started lit circles, he has read 5 books!  Yes, FIVE books in FIVE weeks!  He read his required book in one week, and has checked out multiple books from me since.  I have another student, an honors student, so he is already a reader, but he has read almost every book that I have available for lit circles.  I would guess he has read 10-12 of them in the last five weeks!  Nearly every one of my students LOVES lit circles, and they get excited about their books, and they truly have genuine, authentic conversations about what they are reading.
Over the course of the 5 weeks, the students rotate jobs, completing one job a week.  These jobs focus on different reading skills.  I have really stepped up the rigor of the job sheets for my honors classes, and they are rising to the challenge and blowing me away with their in-depth look at the books they are reading.  My favorite honors class job sheet has been the Literary Luminary.  This job requires the student to find telling quotes from the book that reveal something about the character, setting, or plot, and they have to pick out figurative language such as similes and metaphors.  After the second week of lit circles,  I started realizing that the students were picking out really good quotes from the books, so I started adding them to my notes.  

Here are a few of the quotes they have come up with so far in their books:

steelheart:firefight

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

“Nobody else fights, “ I called after them. “Nobody else even tries! You’re the only ones left. If even you’re scared of men like Steelheart, then how can anyone ever think any differently?”

“Your father believed the best about people,” Prof said. “You could call that foolish, but I’d never call it a fault. He was a hero, son. He stood up to, and killed Deathpoint – an epic who had been slaughtering wantonly. If, in doing so, he let Steelheart live…well, Steelheart hadn’t done terrible things at that point. Your father couldn’t know the future. You can’t be so frightened of what might happen that you are unwilling to act.”

“You two look like a pair of coon hunters on a rainy day.”

I am number four

I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

“You are my life Kiddo. You and my memories are my only ties to the past. Without you, I have nothing. That’s the truth.”

The Testing

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau

“Fear is not real. It is the product of thoughts you create. Danger is very real, but fear is a choice.”

I am proud of my little Literary Luminaries.  Not only did they find really great quotes, they were able to write in-depth about what that quote said about the story.  Kuddos to my 7th graders for becoming such diligent readers!

