What?  You mean I can read my own books every now and then instead of books for school?!  What a crazy concept….
Kidding!  I do occasionally squeeze in a book just for fun during the school year.

My latest ‘for fun’ read ended up being a pretty sad book, so I wouldn’t say it was a fun read, but it was definitely a thought provoking read.

41r-sKjJ61L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I’ve always been a pretty big fan of John Green even though I have only read one of his books.  I was a fan of his Youtube channel and work at Mental Floss, but have never taken the time to read many of his books.  However, after reading The Fault in Our Stars, I was hooked.  He is a fabulous author, and I will be reading all of his novels.
I had no clue what Looking for Alaska was about.  I didn’t even read a blurb or summary about the book before I started reading.  I just knew that it was John Green, so I wanted to read it.  I sometimes like the surprise of reading a book without knowing anything about it.    John Green writes in a way that makes you think.  This book makes you think about religion, death, living, being yourself, the choices that we make in daily life, and how the unexpected can change everything.  It’s about self discovery and making the most of the time that you have.  I really liked how he tied all these different things into one story that always kept you guessing.

